Tim and Randy's Training Service

Home » Uncategorized » Real Life Wins While On OT III

Real Life Wins While On OT III

Mary is a creative writing college instructor, and sent me some of her recent wins while doing OT III:

rosietech-1024x681

I’ve had some pretty cool wins in the past couple of days. First, an area on my right back that I was running must’ve been LOADED with charge, or close to the heart of the matter, something. Right after session, about six or seven of my lumbar and thoracic vertebrae on the right side released themselves and adjusted spontaneously. I could hear the “zzzzpp” as they went. I have no more aching or pain on my right side now, either. My back has been a lot more comfortable lately, too. (Oh, yes, did I mention? I couldn’t get back into session for three days because I had a Floating TA or at least a persistent FN for that long!)

Then, I think I really reached (maybe it was basic ARC, TRs and intention, but still) a student who is and was having some serious self-confidence problems about his writing. I have been able to perceive that he’s been through some betrayal about the evaluation of his writing with at least one other instructor, who liked his writing, but failed him for a previous class. Because I am white and female, and he is an older black man, I have wondered if he trusts my writing advice and evaluation. Yesterday, though, he had a big breakthrough. He was hemming and hawing about how to approach an emotionally charged topic he felt strongly about, and he came up to ask my advice multiple times during the writing period.

He finally said, “I feel [this way] about this topic, but…it’s pretty strong, should I say it?” I looked him right in the eye and said, “Go there, M—-. That’s what you need to be writing about.”

I had no doubt I’d really connected with him at that moment. He just nodded. He proceeded to write the best paper I’ve seen him write, with the time he had left, and I have no doubt that this was a breakthrough moment for him. I even wrote him an email after I’d graded his paper that evening to let him know how well he’d done because I knew he’d worry all weekend about it.

Earlier that morning, I was driving to school and some dork in a big SUV pulled out right in front of me as he was exiting the parking lot. I was taken aback and braked and honked, but here’s the kicker: Usually, I feel SO angry and upset about drivers like that, that it stays with me all day, but yesterday, I shook it off! I was a little adrenalized (thanks for the swift reaction time, GE!) but I was barely fazed. Not that I didn’t care if I got into a wreck. That was the last thing I wanted. But I kept looking at the incident every so often and thinking, “I just don’t have the same reaction anymore.” Honestly, before, it was as if I would take out part of my case and chew on it for days after an incident like that.

I also had a thoughtless driver stop behind me as I was backing out of a parking spot yesterday. I was all pissed off as she sat there behind me, adjusting her hair and getting her sunglasses on (no cross traffic to stop her), and I kept thinking she was deliberately being irritating. I was so angry, but as I exited the parking lot, I realized that it wasn’t deliberate; she was just out of PT and clueless! The BPC and anger, which had been entirely my mockup, blew right there! That was amazing, because, like I said, I usually chew on the BPC for some time.

Mary B.

 

6 Comments

  1. Tim- S says:

    Nice wins Mary. Isn’t it great when you can clearly see that case has gone missing? :>)

    • Mary says:

      Yes! I take “case going missing” for granted a lot. It’s fun to notice when stuff “isn’t” happening anymore!

  2. Poet13c says:

    Well done, Mary B, and all at Tim and Randy’s. Nice job 🙂

  3. David Cooke says:

    Congratulations on these wins! So much has been written for and against the theory of OTIII, but all that matters is the practical gain a person can get from looking, and blowing charge.

Leave a Reply

Calendar of Posts

April 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blogs I Follow

treylotz

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

